How do I reformat my Macbook Pro hard drive?

I want to prepare my macbook pro to be sold. I want to clear the hard drive and am not sure where to start. Please give me detailed directions as I am not extremely computer literate. Thank you.

  1. Here is what you want to do (I just did the same thing)
    First : Make SURE you have your OS install disks (these came with your computer). If you don’t, skip past my first directions. My first directions are the best and safest way to do it.
    Second: 1. Insert the Mac OS X CD.
    2. Restart the computer.
    3. Immediately after the startup sound, press and hold the “C” key to start up from CD.
    4. When the Installer screen appears, do not click Continue. Instead, choose Installer > Open Disk Utilities.
    5. Select the hard drive to erase.
    6. Click the Erase tab.
    Also, if you have an external hard drive – you can bot from that (when turning on your computer hold down Alt and when two hard drives appear click the copy) and boot Disk Utlity from that and follow the same directions.
    Apple doesn’t give out free OS disks but you can call and see if they will send you your OS disks for a smaller fee than buying Leopard. (http://www.apple.com/support/contact/phone_contacts.html)
    Hopefully you have your disks.
    (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=462006) You can also try and download the drivers in a torrent – not sure how easy this would be to find / download.
    I suggest calling apple (support link above) if you don’t have your disks.
    After you erase – you just insert the first disk and it will guide you through the process. It does require you put in your name – or you can just wait for the other person and tell them to install it. I installed with my name and address as I had to put other applications on when I sold it so they could see it in action.
    Good luck selling – and any other questions just contact me through Yahoo! – I’ll try and do my best to help.

    7. Select the volume format from the Volume Format pop-up menu.
    8. Click Options.
    9. Select the checkbox for “Zero all data”.
    10. Click OK.
    11. Click Erase.

Related Posts

Tags: ,